

AN EMERGING RARE EARTHS PRODUCER FOR USERS WORLDWIDE

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN

Arafura Resources Limited (ASX: ARU) ("Arafura" or "the Company") wishes to advise that Mr. Ian Kowalick AM has been appointed as non-executive Chairman with immediate effect.

As announced in December 2011, Mr. Kowalick had agreed to assume the position of non-executive Chairman in January 2012.

Mr. Kowalick is a well-known businessman based in Adelaide South Australia. He was one of the original founding directors of Arafura.

Mr. Chris Tonkin will stand down from the position of non-executive Chairman but will remain on the board as a non-executive Director.

Arafura's Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Dr Steve Ward commented "The appointment of Ian Kowalick as non-executive Chairman is entirely consistent with the Board Refresh Program which was announced in July 2011."

Dr Ward also thanked Mr. Tonkin for performing the role as interim non-executive Chairman.

There have also been changes to the number of board sub-committees. Details of the sub-committees, their respective chairpersons and members are as follows:

	Audit	Risk	Remuneration & Nomination
Chair	Chris Tonkin	Loretta Reynolds	Lloyd Jones
	Terry Jackson	Lloyd Jones	lan Laurance
	Ian Kowalick	Ian Kowalick	Ian Kowalick
	Loretta Reynolds		Chris Tonkin

- ENDS -

For further information contact:

Dr Steve Ward Managing Director & CEO Arafura Resources Ltd T: +61 8 6210 7666 Mr Ian Kowalick AM Non-executive Chairman Arafura Resources Ltd T: +61 417 824 817

ARAFURA RESOURCES LIMITED

arafura@arafuraresources.com.au www.arafuraresources.com.au ABN 22 080 933 455